Youth fellowship

I help run a youth fellowship and up to recently had a abundant number of leaders to help . This meant we took in it turn to lead the session which meant one in five Sundays we had to prepare the lesson and the format. Unfortunaly not everyones level of committed had been the same and the reality of this means that we now have 2 leaders who are there every week. Its going well , we have a small committed number of youth who come most weeks, exams have meant numbers are a little lower but then have been attending well. Two are now eighteen and have agreed to help in the running of it. Its important that we have good role models for the younger ones and although I am young in spirit and get on well with them I think they will be able to relate well to our two new assistant leaders. It really touched my heart when one brought in a birthday cake for me on Sunday , I think it was apreciated that I had given up my evening for connect. It worrys me that I will have more lessons to prepare especially during exam time but hope to put together some lessons over the summer.Not all lessons go according to plan and hurmour can often lead it away from the direction intended. My last lesson was about Gods will and the bounderies he wishes us to live within. This was demonstrated by a fish(us) a bowl (bounderies) and the water ( his will for us). It entailed taking the fish out of the water at one point something I could not do ( poor fish ) so I had cut a carrot in to the shape of a fish This showed that that while we live within Gods will we our safe from satan temptation and how God never tempts us .Much laughter resulted when I put in some fish food to show that God wants us to enjoy life within his bounderies. But I explained how I couldnt bare to distress real fish and it led to some dicussion on what enjoyment was acceptable in Gods eyes and what was not .

Joshua 24:14-18 (NIV)
14 “Now fear the LORD and serve him with all faithfulness. Throw away the gods your forefathers worshiped beyond the River and in Egypt, and serve the LORD. 15 But if serving the LORD seems undesirable to you, then choose for yourselves this day whom you will serve, whether the gods your forefathers served beyond the River, or the gods of the Amorites, in whose land you are living. But as for me and my household, we will serve the LORD.”
16 Then the people answered, “Far be it from us to forsake the LORD to serve other gods! 17 It was the LORD our God himself who brought us and our fathers up out of Egypt, from that land of slavery, and performed those great signs before our eyes. He protected us on our entire journey and among all the nations through which we traveled. 18 And the LORD drove out before us all the nations, including the Amorites, who lived in the land. We too will serve the LORD, because he is our God.”

James 1:13-18 (NIV)
13When tempted, no one should say, “God is tempting me.” For God cannot be tempted by evil, nor does he tempt anyone; 14but each one is tempted when, by his own evil desire, he is dragged away and enticed. 15Then, after desire has conceived, it gives birth to sin; and sin, when it is full-grown, gives birth to death. 16Don’t be deceived, my dear brothers. 17Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows. 18He chose to give us birth through the word of truth, that we might be a kind of firstfruits of all he created.

Leave a Reply

