Fruits of the spirit

Over the last few weeks my Rector has been focusing on the fruits of the spirit and with a young son to distract me I found the topic of patience apt to say the least as I struggled to occupy him and listen at the same time , I’m sad to say I failed both counts- patience and my listening skills.

So tonight I read Galatians to see exactly what Paul was on about when he wrote to the Galatians’s on the fruit’s of spirit among other things. Firstly it struck me just how much he included in his letter ,it covers so much .

Galatians 5: 22-25 (NLT)

But when the holy spirit controls our lives, he will produce this kind of fruit in us; love, joy, peace, patience, Kindness, goodness, Faithfulness, gentleness, and self -control. Here there is no conflict with the law.

Those who belong to Christ Jesus have nailed the passions and desires of their sinful natures to his cross and crucified them there. If we are living now by the Holy Spirit, let us follow the Holy Spirit`s in every part of our lives .

Paul explains clearly why they don`t need to follow the old Jewish law-Jesus Christ is enough- the only way. Anything else is people pleasing and this made me think of how we often tie ourselves up in knots trying to stick to tradition v biblical teaching. A lot of tradition is man made – thats not faith thats religion and I am so tired of religion.

Galatians 6:15-16(NLT)

It doesn`t make any difference now whether we have been circumcised or not ( followed old law and tradition) , What counts is whether we have really changed into new and different people. May Gods mercy and peace be upon all those who live by this principle . They are the new people of God.

4 thoughts on “Fruits of the spirit

  1. You know patience is something we all struggle with; at least it seems that way. As I read through your blog, I am assuming (please correct me – okay) that you live in England? Have you ever heard about Beth Moore’s on-line study “The Fruit of the Spirit”. I think an on-line study would be great for you, but then again, maybe your destraction at home is too much :)…
    I am just stopping by from CWO’s blogring :)…

  2. eph2810 Thanks for stopping by, close I live in N. Ireland. Havent heard of the study group might look into it but Im back to college soon and there not enough hours in the day.I really enjoyed a real life group over the summer

    xxx gil

  3. Fruits of the Spirit; oh to be Christ-like. Right now I am convicted of certain behaviours that I need to work on. I am most definitely a work in progess.

  4. Yes – I noticed that you are going back to school when I scrolled down yesterday. Way to go, girl…Oh – N Ireland – awesome. Although I have never been there, I enjoyed the pictures I have seen. Maybe one day my hubby and I make a European trip and include N. Ireland…
    Be blessed 🙂

Leave a Reply

