College update

Well I survived my first day of placement and nerves – actually wasn’t bad at all. Have been given another referral , so hopefully will set an appointment next week. Finally have a supervisor in place , it basically came down to two and one of my tutors had stressed about going with your instinct so that is what I have done. Its important that I am able to build a good working relationship with this person as I’m going to be spending quite a lot of time with this person over the next 1 1/2 years, maybe longer and paying £35 a session for the privilege. Im really fortunate that not only is she BACP/IACP accredited but also an accredited supervisor- Not many of them are here and with my self esteem being so poor at the moment its a great boost.

Plus we are not allowed to change without our college’s permission- one of the reasons being if we have a clash of personalities or just dont get on it is in many ways very much like the counselling relationship – we wont always like each and everyone of our clients but we have to still work through it and do our best for each one.

This is something that is in keeping with my Christian ethos. I may not like everyone, some I will tolerate, some I will love. But as a Christian I am instructed to love everyone equally- very hard.

John 4:7 (NIV)

Dear friends, let us love one another, for love comes from God. Everyone who loves has been born of God and knows God.

Leave a Reply

